IAFF 2023 Media Awards winners announced

January 30 • 2024

The results are in, and we are happy to announce the IAFF’s 2023 Media Awards winners!

The annual contest recognizes both IAFF affiliates and journalists who have displayed exceptional communications and media coverage promoting public safety and the advancement of the fire service.

The 39 winners below were selected from over 200 nominations and best celebrate the work of the fire service, raise awareness of important labor issues, and highlight the role that the IAFF and its members play in keeping the public safe. Nominations include items published between Jun. 1, 2022 and Aug. 31, 2023.

Submissions for the 2024 Media Awards will accepted in Sept. 2024!

Affiliate Categories

Best Newsletter or Magazine (circulation less than 1,000)

Best Newsletter or Magazine (circulation more than 1,000)

Best Political Campaign Messaging

Best Public Safety Campaign

Best MDA Outreach Project

Best Fire Service Photo (not previously published) Taken by an IAFF Member

Best Social Media Account

Journalist Categories

Best News Story/Series (Print)

Best News Story/Series (Broadcast)

Best Feature/Series (Print)

Best Feature/Series (Broadcast)

Best Published Photograph (Print or Digital)

Best Column, Editorial, or Opinion Post (Print or Digital)

 Best Investigative Reporting (Print or Digital)