The IAFF Local Leadership Awards were established by Convention resolution to champion the standard of leadership set by Dennis J. Murray, one of the longest-serving local presidents in IAFF history and the first recipient of the award in 2008.

The awards, presented every two years at Convention, honor and recognize IAFF leaders who have gone above and beyond their duties in representing their members at the local, state or provincial level over many years.

IAFF leaders (current and past) who have dedicated 15 years or more to their local are eligible to be nominated. Awards are given to no more than one leader from each of the IAFF’s 16 districts.

A call for nominations for the 57th Convention Local Leadership Awards will be posted in the spring of 2024.

For more information, email leadership[email protected].

Past Winner List 2008-2022
Original Resolution
Amended Resolution