Longtime IAFF leader Larry Cook honoured in New Brunswick

June 14 • 2023

NBFL President Daniel Legere and Local 771 Member Larry Cook

The New Brunswick Federation of Labour (NBFL) recently recognized a dedicated and long-serving IAFF leader, honouring his unwavering commitment and selfless service to both the organization and his fellow workers.

In a ceremony on May 28, Larry Cook, a member Saint John, NB Local 771, was honoured as the NBFL’s 2023 Honour Roll Recipient. A dedicated participant in NBFL activities since the 1980s, Cook served as the federation’s Vice President for Small Unions from May 2019 until May 2023, leaving an indelible mark on the labor movement.

Cook expressed immense pride upon receiving the award, deeming it a truly significant moment.

“It brought a tear to my eye when I was presented with the award, to see all the various unions out there. That’s a big part of it,” he said. “I always loved the labour movement; it was a very easy decision for me to work on behalf of the ‘fed.”

At 70, Cook’s extensive history of union involvement that goes back to 1971 when he worked in construction trades. In 1977, he became a Saint John fire fighter, later serving Local 771 in numerous roles, including president, recording secretary, Executive Board member, and pension trustee, as well as on several Local 771 committees. He also served as president of the Atlantic Provinces Professional Fire Fighters Association (APPFFA) and holds President Emeritus status with both the APPFFA and Local 771.

Cook was appointed IAFF 15th District Field Services Representative in 2001, when the program was implemented and continues to serve in the role.

General President Edward Kelly saluted Cook on his award and thanked him for his commitment to the labour movement. “The rights and the working conditions that fire fighters and all workers enjoy today stem from the hard work and dedication of union leaders like Larry Cook,” Kelly said. “His recognition is well deserved.”

Cook was honoured with an IAFF Leadership Award at the IAFF 53rd Convention in Las Vegas in 2016.