Hutto Local 4707 Members Receive Texas EMS First Responder of the Year

February 9 • 2018

The Texas Department of State Health Services EMS and Trauma Systems bestowed the members of Hutto Local 4707 (Hutto Fire Rescue/Williamson County Emergency Medical Services) with the 2017 Texas EMS First Responder of the Year Award.

The award honors a first responder organization that demonstrates “leadership in several categories, including EMS in patient care, public access, medical control, disaster preparedness, public education or training,”

Local 4707 members were nominated for the honor by Williamson County EMS Director Mike Knipstein.  And Knipstein’s nomination was supported by the results of an annual Hutto community survey which cited Hutto Fire Rescue/Williamson County EMS as being the best in community service.

“Our system works because we work together,” says Local 4707 President Michael Glanville. “Our citizens know they can depend on us for fast response and life-saving care.”

“We aim to have a medic unit positioned in every fire house,” says Fire Chief Scott Kerwood. “Having everyone under one roof enables them to get to know each other well which better enables them function as a team.”
The award was presented at the Texas EMS Conference in Fort Worth.