The Canadian Government has recognized five IAFF members for supporting first responders’ mental health.

The members, who were named Champions of Mental Health by the Canadian Institute for Public Safety Research and Treatment (CIPSRT) on Nov. 23, are:

  • Ian Clavelle – Strathcona County, AB Local 2461
  • Steve Farina – Coquitlam, BC Local 1782
  • Nathalie Menard – Montreal, QC Local 125
  • Jeff Reeder – Prince Albert, SK Local 510
  • Michael Sears – Halifax, NS Local 268

“Our job is dangerous, and our lives are challenging,” said General President Edward Kelly. “Strong behavioral health programs, and ready access to well-being resources, are critical to our commitment to protecting each other. Ian, Steve, Nathalie, Jeff, and Michael have been tireless advocates for the importance of mental health, and I am proud of and grateful for their work. They represent the best of this IAFF.”

Behavioral health resources for members have expanded recently, with the IAFF’s participation in CIPSRT, its partnership with EHN Canada, and other initiatives developed at the provincial and local levels.

The IAFF was named a key CIPSRT stakeholder in 2019 after lobbying the Canadian Government to adopt a National Action Plan to address post-traumatic stress in public safety personnel. The union currently sits on CIPSRT’s Public Safety Steering Committee, which meets regularly to advise the organization on mental health research and services.

More information about the Champions of Mental Health, including details about the award winners, is available here.